Lewis & Clark College completes the renovation and expansion of a campus icon.
Photographs by Robert Reynolds
Built in 1929 as part of the original Fir Acres Estate, Albany Quadrangle has served many purposes over the years: garage and greenhouse, chapel and library, office building and classroom complex.
This spring, as the result of a stunning renovation and expansion project, Albany Quadrangle stands as the functional and symbolic heart of the academic campus. It currently houses the permanent offices of the Dean of the College and Overseas and Off-Campus Programs. Over time, it will become the centralized location for a variety of academic support services, such as the Registrar, Academic Advising, the Writing Center, and the Math Skills Center. It will also be a key venue for public programs in commemoration of the Lewis and Clark Expedition Bicentennial.
Left, top: Albany Quadrangle as it looked in 1930. A fountain with spouting dolphins, which still exists today, appears in the foreground. Left, bottom: Architects added a 12,000-square-foot wing on the south side of the quad, which was carefully designed as an architectural link between old and new. The building houses administrative academic support services. Right, top: Architects preserved many of Albany’s most memorable features, including two ornamental lanterns and an ornate lead-clad dovecote with a massive weather vane. Right, bottom: The Dovecote Café has quickly become a popular meeting place for students, faculty, and staff.
Back to Summer 2003 Chronicle